Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Unlearning Racism Discussion – A History of Kindness by Linda Hogan

July 11, 2023 @ 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM EDT

Please register using this link!

Who: All Generative Council Collective Sisters
What: Unlearning Racism Discussion: A History of Kindness, poetry collection by Linda Hogan
When: Tuesday July 11, 10:00 – 11:00 am PT // 11:00am – 12:00pm MT // 12:00 – 1:00 pm CT// 1:00 – 2:00 pm ET // 7:00 – 8:00 pm CET. As always, we will open up the zoom room 15 minutes prior for socializing.
Why:  To support and learn from each other while we dismantle oppression in our lived spaces

For our next Unlearning Racism conversation, we will be discussing Linda Hogan’s collection of poetry, A History of Kindness.

Linda Hogan’s poetry collection “A History of Kindness” focuses on the interconnectedness of people, the natural world and ecological harmony. Her writing is steeped in Native American culture and journeys into social and environmental justice. Linda describes it this way: “This is a book that is not only about poetry and its quiet moments of magic, but about wisdom given by Elders and teachers we all want and need in our lives. It contains history as it dwells in the present, affecting our lives in the now, and goes beyond to the ways we learn to love ourselves and others. I would call this book a tree. It begins as a seedling and grows, rings showing the years and the roots are spread wide, in common feeling, in the roots of race, culture, the hatred of these countered by rich heartwood.”

This is a short read at 87 pages, so we hope you have time to take in this beauty. But even if life gets in the way and you don’t have time, we invite you to join us anyway to continue our ongoing work to dismantle oppression in our lived spaces.

We hope you can join us for the conversation!

 

Details

Date:
July 11, 2023
Time:
1:00 PM - 2:00 PM EDT
Event Category:

Venue

Zoom Meeting