Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

September 2023 GC Nature Hour: Fall Equinox Seasons Council Gathering

September 21, 2023 @ 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM EDT

Please register using this link!

Who: All are welcome
What: 2023 Fall Equinox Seasons Council Gathering
When: Thursday, September 21, 10:00 – 11:00 am PT // 11:00am – 12:00pm MT // 12:00 – 1:00 pm CT// 1:00 – 2:00 pm ET // 7:00 – 8:00 pm CET.
Why:  To pause, reflect, and connect

Fall Equinox: Facing Darkness and Embracing Light

Welcome the change of the seasons!

As we welcome the Fall Equinox, the sun’s light begins to sink lower in the sky.  The nights grow darker and chillier.  Perhaps before we even notice the changing colors with our eyes, our other senses register the shifting seasons.

Harvest time is here!  We honor the harvest of the living things planted in our outer gardens and the harvest of our inner efforts and intentions.   Autumn invites us to create room for greater visions to grow, to embrace empty space and introspection.  We pause and listen to what is emerging within us.  This is our time to compost old ideas, utilizing the energy to enrich fertile soil, and providing nourishment for new creativity and fresh possibilities.

The crisp air of Autumn beckons us to Rest, Reflect, and Re-set in preparation for the still, cold winter days ahead.  Let’s pause and reflect with the sacred gift of SOLO time in nature!  We are called to be present with our sacred selves and with Mother Earth, to allow her centering balance to flow through our bodies and minds.

Please join us!

Your Hosts

Terra Shimada

Terra Shimada brings to her GC sisters a life-long passion for seeking, exploring, journeying, learning, and finding meaning through service, relationships and her love of nature.  Academically trained in gerontology and public health, breaking down barriers, advocating for social justice, and embracing community, Terra’s career was grounded in the nonprofit sector where her training and passions intersected.  Terra was the ED of an all volunteer-led free clinic, an international nonprofit that trained local community members in elder care, and more recently fiercely advocated for equitable access to oral health care. She lived in Nepal for over 10 years, and ‘walking in the mountains’ is one of her greatest joys…second only to ‘swimming in the wild blue ocean’.  She lives on the Columbia River on Sauvie Island, with Nellie & Petey (Mini-cattle/blue-heelers) whom she co-parents. Her daughter Marina lives in PDX and son Takumi lives in Hong Kong.

Chris Schneider

I am a fiery nature connector! Creating deep & meaningful experiences between humans of all ages and the natural world. I bring 29 years of corporate leadership and coaching experience; and over the last 10 years I’ve led corporate nature-based workshops. I’m the founder and president of a thriving Outdoor Enthusiast Club (500+ community). Three pillars root us, education, service, and connecting with the lands and waters of AZ. Through my evolution, I’ve become a certified master naturalist. I give my volunteer service (education, leadership, citizen science, and stewardship) to the Nat’l Parks/ Forest, the AZ Sustainability Alliance, and locally to the Highlands Center for Natural History. I look forward to journeying with you as you give your impactful work to the world!

 

 

Details

Date:
September 21, 2023
Time:
1:00 PM - 2:00 PM EDT
Event Category: