Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Unlearning Racism Book Club and Conversation Series: Heather McGhee’s The Sum of Us Podcast

February 23, 2023 @ 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM EST

Unlearning Racism Book Club and Conversation Series: Heather McGhee’s The Sum of Us Podcast 
February 23, 2023, 1 – 2:15 ET (12pm CT/11am MT/10am PT/6pm BST)
This event is open to all GCC members.

Our next couple Unlearning Racism discussions will focus on the work of Heather McGhee, author of The Sum of Us: What Racism Costs Everyone and How We Can Prosper Together. This is a wonderful but very long book, so we’d like to give everyone a chance to read or listen to it over several months. Therefore, in celebration of Black History Month in February, we will be discussing 3 episodes of The Sum of Us Podcast, which are available for free on Spotify:

Episode 2: Memphis, TN: The Sweetest Water in the World (Environmental Racism & The Right to Clean Water) 43 min

Episode 4: Kansas City, MO: Flipping Burgers (Minimum Wage) 37 min

Episode 7: Dallas, TX to Albuquerque, NM: A Journey of Faith for Reproductive Rights (Women’s Reproductive Rights) 48 min

We hope you can join us for the conversation! Click here to RSVP and learn more.

Venue

Zoom Meeting

Organizer

Kim Slack